This is the "RefWorks" page of the "RefWorks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RefWorks  

This guide will enable you to set-up a RefWorks account and begin using this citation management tool.
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2013 URL: http://libguides.wit.edu/refworks Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
RefWorks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

RefWorks Workshops

This crash course will teach you everything you need to know to get started using

RefWorks

Topics include creating your RefWorks account, entering and organizing your citations, connecting directly to online resources, importing citations from article databases, and using RefWorks with Word to generate bibliographies. 

Bring your laptop as we will begin to use this citation management tool.

These mini courses are offered on an appointment basis.  Please make an appointment by calling 617-989-4040, option 3 or by emailing ref@wit.edu 

 

More questions?

Send us a message via email at ref@wit.edu or by phone at 617-989-4040 x 3 and one of the WIT Library reference librarians will get back to within 24 hours.

 

Annotated Bibliography

You can use RefWorks to create an annotated bibliography once you set up an account.

You can import citations from your library database searches and RefWorks will do the formatting for you. Then you can focus on the research and analysis rather than worrying about the format.

To create an annotated bibliography using RefWorks:

  1. Export citations from library databases into RefWorks.
  2. Add your notes to the abstract field for each record in RefWorks.
  3. Use an Annotated with Abstracts style from the RefWorks Styles manager.
  4. Export the annotated bibliography to Word.

Take advantage of the upcoming training sessions to get the most out of RefWorks!

 

Library Minute - RefWorks

 

What is RefWorks?

RefWorks is a product that allows you to create, search and maintain your own personal citations database. These citations can then be easily inserted in papers or publications, and are automatically added to bibliographies in multiple citation styles.

RefWorks is available free to WIT faculty, students, staff, and alumni through the WIT Library subscription.

Create your own RefWorks account now!

For Remote access you must enter our group code.  Call Alumni Library Reference Desk at 617-989-3042 and ask for the RefWorks Group Code or log on to L-Connect and go to the Alumni Library box under the Academic Resources tab.

RefWorks Frequently Asked Questions - FAQ's

Adding Citations

 Within most of the Library databases, there is the ability to export(add) citations into RefWorks. This is often referred to as direct export.

The following databases or database providers allow exporting: EBSCO, JSTOR, Lexis-Nexis, Proquest, the FLO Catalog, and WorldCat.

To add citations view the tutorial or the PDF below.

 

Importing Citations from the Catalog

Here are the step-by-step instructions to use when you wish to capture a print book's citation information from the Alumni Library Catalog.

Creating Bibliographies

Using RefWorks, you can easily create bibliographies!  Click on the link below to access the tutorial.


REFWORKS GROUP CODE

If working from off campus you will need the RefWorks Group Code.  This is found on L-Connect.  Go to the Academic Resources tab, on the lower right hand corner you will see a box for Alumni Library.  The code is in that box.  You can also call the reference desk during open hours and ask for the group code.  The reference desk telephone number is 617-989-4040 option 3.  Good luck with your research!

 

RefWorks Login Page

RefWorks 2.0 Tips & Tutorials

Tutorials available in both print and video formats

 

 

RefWorks extras

Make the most of RefWorks by using these tools:


Write'n'Cite is plug-in that you need to install on your own computer. This is what allows RefWorks to connect with your Microsoft Word documents and format citations within your papers.


RefGrab-It is a BookMarklet that you save in your web browser. With one click, RefGrab-It will export the citation information about the website you're viewing directly into your RefWorks account.


RefShare is a RefWorks feature that provides a quick and easy way to share your entire RefWorks database or specific folders with other researchers.

NOTE: This feature will not create a shared RefWorks account for multiple users. In order to do that, you simply need to create a new RefWorks account for your team or project, and share the password.

 

Suggestions??

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:



550 Huntington Avenue, Boston, Massachusetts 02115 • 617 989 4040
Wentworth Institute of Technology
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip